Fusing Ghost Images Into Glass

I’ve been experimenting with firing leaves into glass to leave a ghost image. I fused a piece of fern leaf between two pieces of glass overnight and it’s worked brilliantly. The heat burnt away the leaf and has left a gorgeous, detailed ghost image. Am now very excited about the design possibilities.

Fern leaf fused into glass

About JessAtGreengageGlass

I am a glass artist and I work from my garden studio in Surrey
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Fusing Ghost Images Into Glass

  1. Debbie says:

    Wow that’s brilliant – I tried that a little while ago but ended up as massive bubble in the middle of the glass :):)

  2. I love this. My daughter’s name is Fern–pls let me know if you ever offer any pieces like this for sale.

  3. becky hanley says:

    Love this … could you share your firing schedule for doing this ?

    • Hello. The schedule is (fahrenheit) as follows: Rate:250f/hour Soak 300f hold 10 mins. Rate: 400f/hour soak 1465f hold 10 mins. Rate 9999f/hour soak 950f hold 60 mins. Rate 100f/hour soak 800f hold 15 mins. Hope that helps. Jess

Leave a Reply

